President's Message

It is a great honor to serve as the President of the exceptional Frederick County (MD) Alumnae Chapter, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. ​My FCAC sorors and I truly appreciate each of you. Here are just a few highlights of our various service endeavors...


Established Programs and Activities:

  • Award annual scholarships in the spring of each year; over $160,000 awarded since 2007

  • Conduct Delta Academy, Delta GEMS, and EMBODI youth mentoring programs for young girls and boys in middle and high school focusing on self-esteem, goal setting, and academic excellence;

  • Establish a partnership with the housing authority to implement a tutoring program for pre-school youth-led by our Delta Dears;

  • Host a male youth EMBODI summit in partnership with Frederick Community College;

  • Support St. Judes  walk/run through our annual FCAC DST team;

  • Organize voter registration training and monthly voter registration drives and various other events geared at advocating for social change and political awareness;

  • Lead physical and mental health-related activities with other local community service and long-term care facilities to promote healthy lifestyles; 

  • Offer volunteer services through our adopt-a-school program by providing food and clothing donations, PTA and classroom support;


​Awards and Recognition:

As a testament to our hard work and dedication to public service, FCAC was recognized as the winner of the Eastern Region’s Small Chapter of the Year for two consecutive years (2013 and 2014) as well as the Exemplary Social Action Program (2014), an award given for excellence in programming in the areas of Political Awareness and Advocacy. In 2019, FCAC was recognized by the Frederick County Commission for Women as the Organization of the Year!!


With these programs and our annual signature events, the Elegance of Jazz Brunch and Dr. Dorothy I. Height Leadership and Scholarship Luncheon, FCAC continually looks for opportunities to develop partnerships with community leaders, thereby broadening the service impact upon the county, state, and nation. Again, we greatly appreciate the generous support we've been so blessed to receive and we hope that you will use this page as a source of information about our sorority both nationally and locally. 


Our sorority consists of diverse and unique members, yet all our actions are guided by our core values: Sisterhood, Scholarship, and Service. Keep reading to learn more about us, and feel free to reach out with any questions.



Marva L. Younger, President 

Frederick County Alumnae Chapter, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

  ~~Charter Members~~

 Kathy Brooks
  Kenyatta Graham
  Khea Johnson
  Yolandra Johnson
  Patricia Pinnix
  Roslyn Cooley-Prayer
  Ilva Richardson
  Olivia Robbins
  Pauletta Sheppard
  Veronica Skinner-Ferguson
  Anna Shanklin
  Dawn Stanton
  Tasha Tate
  Felicia Turner
  Mary Wright
  Olivia White

~~Chapter Officers~~


Marva L. Younger

Dr. Kathy W. Brooks

Darylle Smoot

Tanya Davis

Cearrah Sherman

Shlesta Thomas

Contina Flemings

Christina Boyd-Brown

Khea Johnson

Sabrina Seals

Dr. Dorothy Granberry

Dr. Olivia G. White

Marvia Sawyer

Dr. Kathy W. Brooks

Dr. Della White

Kim Edwards

Sharon Akuta

Janette B. Goodman


Chapter President

1st Vice President

2nd Vice President

3rd Vice President

Recording Secretary

Corresponding Secretary

Financial Secretary

Assistant Financial Secretary







Custodian of Properties

Chair, Nominating Committee

Chair, Internal Audit Committee

Immediate Past President

Copyright© 2020 This website is the sole property and responsibility of the Frederick County (MD) Alumnae Chapter, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.